Blue Oat Cake

Confession: Yesterday I didn’t make a recipe like I’m supposed to for my weekly challenge…it was a long day at work and I didn’t eat lunch or dinner at home so there wasn’t much time to make anything.

The good news:  This morning I had a delicious breakfast planned.

While looking through Averie’s recipes, I stumbled upon the Microwave Blueberry Banana Oat Cakes. It looked easy, quick, and packed with fruit. Which I love. 

bluuuuue!

In The Mix:

1 mashed banana

1/2 cup oats

1/4 cup brown sugar

a whole bunch of cinnamon

couple handfuls of fresh blueberries

dash of vanilla extract

This was done in about 6 minutes including mixing & microwaving. You could shave off a couple minutes by mixing all of the ingredients together the night before and microwaving it in the morning. I also topped it off with a plop of peanut butter. It was a little too sweet for me, but that was because I added too much brown sugar for my taste. I loved how quick & easy it was, and flexible! You could add any number of mix-ins or toppings. Oh…and…it’s blue!!! I love when my foods turn out crazy colors. It’s so fun!

For lunch I packed a Chocolate Chip Clif Bar, a green apple and a leftover piece of cheese pizza. I have eaten way too much pizza the past couple weeks but I love it! Really, is too much pizza even possible?

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Lunch

Leave a Reply

