Vegetables are Good

If you remember, this morning I announced this week’s challenge…being completely vegetarian for a week. Since November I have cut back on my meat consumption and the only meat I ate was fish and some chicken. This week I am going without any meat, including fish. I am using this week to document how I’m feeling while living off a plant-based diet and learning new, creative ways to use veggies. While this week obviously isn’t going to give me the whole picture of being vegetarian (parties, holidays, life occurrences) I will be more aware of my diet options. Eventually, maybe giving up fish won’t seem so difficult.

Benefits of Vegetarianism: 

Reduced risk of heart disease

Lower blood pressure

Control of Diabetes

Easier digestion of food

NOTE: I’m not a medical professional or RD. Before you switch or experiment with your diet you should talk with a professional.

For dinner tonight I had leftovers of last night’s pasta (without the shrimp of course). If you haven’t made it yet, you need to now.

Tomorrow I’ll have a great vegetarian recipe for you to kick off the week!

2 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Weekly Challenges

2 responses to “Vegetables are Good

  1. bakebooks

    Thank you, so much, for your amazing comment on my blog…truly. I can’t express how when I am falling down, on my last limb, ready to give up…how words and strength found in them – how they help, just a little, to pick me back up. If only long enough to breathe.

    - as for vegetarianism – I am not (I feel better eating lean chicken, fish, eggs, full-fat dairy) – BUT I don’t eat it like 5 meals a day! Although cheese does find it’s way into all meals…;)

    I DO however ADORE vegetables. To my detriment actually I think – too many are apparently hard on the tummy.

  2. You’re very welcome! I’m glad it helped! Keep doing what you’re doing…the best revenge is to be happy. That other person is obviously unhappy so they are trying to bring you down too. Just ignore it and be you!

    I believe cheese belongs in every meal!! Well, except ice cream…that might be gross. I’m glad you’ve found what works for you! It’s great that you feel better eating meat and full-fat dairy..I’m with you on that. I can’t stand most reduced fat or non-fat dairy products. They taste fake!

Leave a Reply

