So Berry Good

Today for breakfast I made a smoothie in a bowl. I was worried it wouldn’t fill me up, but it was delicioussss. This was the best smoothie I’ve had in a long time.

The Mix:

1/2 cup frozen berry mix (strawberry, blackberry, blueberry, raspberry)

1/3 cup raw rolled oats

1/4 cup plain greek yogurt

3/4 cup almond breeze (unsweetened)

sprinkle of flax seeds

1/4 of a frozen banana

small squirt of agave

teaspoon of vanilla extract

Topping:

1/4 cup honey almond granola

1 tbsp peanut butter

I ate this smoothie (weird saying ate instead of drank!) with a side of hot coffee…yum! I never drank coffee everyday until last year. I would order a tall nonfat misto with hazelnut syrup every morning (sometimes multiple times a day) from Starbucks. Eventually I stopped ordering the syrup with it and just sprinkled some cinnamon into my drink. I can’t stand the sweet syrups anymore, it’s funny how our taste buds change! Now, I rarely ever visit coffee shops because my parents roast their own coffee beans so I have my own coffeshop-quality coffee right in my kitchen! Sometimes I add a little milk into my coffee, but about 90% of the time I just drink it black. Skipping my morning trip to Starbucks has definitely saved me some money the past couple of months! I never knew how much I was spending there until I started tracking it…about $35 a week!! That’s $140 a month!! Craziness.

What do you order at coffee shops? 

I’ll be back tonight with some ice cream talk. Luckily the weather is so much nicer than it has been the past couple of days!!

Also, make sure to follow us on Twitter and I just made a Facebook page, so “like” us on Facebook!!

5 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Recipes

5 responses to “So Berry Good

  1. Oh my – LOVE the color of that SIAB! It’s so vibrant!

  2. Kalli

    love your smoothie! so jeolous that your parents roast their own coffee-oh my send some my way! and yes funny how our tastebuds change. something that was just right is too sweet now….i agree! i like to either a large hot passion tea or a coffee with some half and half-not too exciting!

  3. Pingback: | That Deep Breath

Leave a Reply

