Sunflower Butter Obsession

First of all, welcome those of you who found me this morning through my guest post at Beautiful Busy Bee! I’m so happy you all enjoyed that post!!
Breakfast:

After I woke up with a terrible migraine yesterday, I decided to set my alarm a little later for this morning. My yoga class was at 10:30 so I set the alarm at 9:30. Of course I decided to ignore my alarm so I woke up at 9:55, not leaving much time for breakfast. Luckily my mom had picked up a couple gourmet bagels yesterday, so I split a spinach parm. bagel with her as I was running out the door.

Yoga was fantastic. I haven’t gone in a couple of weeks because I’ve been busy with work and being out of town, so I think that might be why I’m getting migraines again. This morning’s class was a Hatha Yoga with Guided Meditation, which I never usually go to. The “guided meditation” part of the title has always kept me from going to the class because towards the end of yoga classes I get pretty antsy and I thought the ending 15 minute meditation would drive me crazy, but I actually liked it! I really needed to stretch, I had no idea how tight my muscles were! Taking this class just reminded me I need to make more time for yoga in my life because it’s too easy to save workouts for “the next day” and never do them.

Lunch:

After yoga I drove straight over to one of my favorite stores.

I could spend hours walking around TJ’s and WF. And sometimes I do.

I grabbed chocolate chips, organic blueberries (only $4!), sunflower seed butter (which I didn’t even wait until I got home to open up and try. Um….yum.), and TJ’s brand “Almond Smooth” almond milk (which I’ve never tried before). Luckily, I stopped myself from buying more before I went too crazy. I was actually really surprised by the taste of sunflower butter. I’m not really sure what I expected, but this was a great surprise. I used to eat handfuls of the super salty Ranch Sunflower Seeds, so I forgot how original sunflower seeds taste. It’s funny how our taste buds change, I actually really enjoy plain sunflower seeds now rather than salty flavored ones.

I was starving by the time I got home, so I whipped up a yogurt bowl.

In the Mix:

Greek Yogurt

Strawberries

Blueberries

Honey Almond Granola

Drop of Agave

Drizzle of Sunflower Butter (mmmmmm)

This felt extra filling for some reason, which is a good thing! Maybe it was the addition of my new bff Sunflower Butter?

Dinner:

I’ve been baking away alllll day so I was really ready for dinner! I wasn’t really in the mood for anything specific, so I just grabbed a piece of fish out of the freezer and whipped up a quick meal.

The Mix:

1 piece fish

.5 cup white wine

2 tbsp olive oil

1 clove garlic, crushed

handful cherry tomatoes

salt & pepper

cumin

lemon zest

Throw lemon zest, tomatoes, olive oil, wine and garlic into heated skillet

Poke tomatoes and squish tomatoes with back of fork. Be careful, they explode.

Add fish & let simmer in sauce

Enjoy!

Shout Out Sunday: 

I’m starting a new series on the blog called “Shout Out Sunday.” Every Sunday I will post 5 posts from other blogs that I really enjoyed/thought were funny/found thought-provoking that you might enjoy too! To start off the series here are the 5 posts:

Oh She Glows- 10 Ways to Live in The Present

Healthy Tipping Point- Small Ripples

PBFingers- When the Money Isn’t Worth it

How Sweet Eats- Dark Chocolate Macaroon Toasted Almond Butter

Meals and Moves- The Great Fundraising Act

I just found out about this fundraiser today, and I thought it was really important to mention. Janetha of Meals and Moves is hosting a fundraiser for Susan of The Great Balancing Act, who was recently diagnosed with Lymphoma. As you can imagine, hospital bills are ridiculously expensive and the blogging community is coming together to raise money for Susan. Basically, there is a bake sale/auction happening on Monday, July 25th, as well as monetary donations being accepted. There will be around 100 fantastic items up for auction including baked goods, gift baskets from major companies, autographed books and cookbooks and a ton of other awesome items. For more information, visit the Fundraising Page. There are so many ways to help this cause, so I encourage you to donate something, bid on one of the great prizes or promote this fundraiser. I’ve contacted Janetha & will be donating a baked good.

I’ve had several family members diagnosed with cancer, so this cause is really important to me. Please spread around the word of this fundraiser, you can make a difference!

Lastly, today is National Pina Colada Day, so be sure to end your day with an icy cold Pina Colada tonight. See you tomorrow with a blue recipe!

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter @ThatDeepBreath and “like” me on Facebook! I’ve been neglecting the Facebook lately but I’m trying to actually use it now! Also, I would like to get my Q&A page together so if you have any questions for me, be sure to comment on my Q&A page or email me at thatdeepbreath@yahoo.com. I would love to answer any questions!

6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Recipes, Shout Out Sunday, Workouts

6 responses to “Sunflower Butter Obsession

  1. I loveeee TJ’s sunflower butter! I agree that the taste was totally different than what I expected at first too.

    Do you find that yoga helps w/ your migraines? I get them too so I’m always looking for different things that might help 🙂

    • It’s so addicting!!

      Yea, actually I think yoga helps a lot. I find that when I get migraines the back of my neck feels really tense, so I think the stretching in yoga helps loosen my neck & back. Caffeine is also supposed to help migraines, so I drink a little coffee or a can of Coke whenever I get one. Something in the Coke helps relieve a lot of people’s migraines-maybe it’s the caffeine? You’re supposed to drink a whole can of regular Coke, not diet….it seems to help me sometimes!

      Good luck figuring out what works for you w/ the migraines. They are horrible!! Let me know if you find anything else you that helps you, I’m always looking for more ways to help mine too.

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog so I could find yours! 🙂

    I love adding nuts and nut butters to my bowls to help fill me up. They really do that for me.

    Love the Sunday features post. Always a great way to find other blogs. You picked some of my faves this week!

  3. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    I could spend hours in Tjs and Whole Foods too! Its probably good that I don’t live near either so that I don’t spend ALL my time (and money) there LOL!

    Mmm that fish looks delish! I love cooking with cherry tomatoes….they get so juicy and flavorful!

Leave a comment